eBook Kurt Stenn Ó Ó Hair PDF â

Most people don't give a second thought to the stuff on their head but hair has played a crucial role in in fashion the arts sports commerce forensics and industry In Hair Kurt Stenn — one of the world's foremost hair follicle experts — takes readers on global journey through history from fur merchant associations and sheep farms to medical clinics and patient support groups to show the remarkable impact hair has had on human lifeFrom a completely bald beauty ueen with alopecia to the famed hair hang circus act Stenn weaves the history of hair through a variety of captivating examples with sources varying from renaissance merchants’ diaries to interviews with wig makers modern barbers and In addition to expelling the biological basis and the evolutionary history of hair the fiber is put into context hair in history as tied to textile mills and merchant associations hair as a construct for cultural and self identity hair in the arts as the material for artist's brushes and musical instruments hair as commodity used for everything from the inner lining of tennis balls to an absorbent to clean up oil spills and hair as evidence in criminology Perfect for fans of Mark Kurlansky Hair is a compelling read based solidly in historical and scientific research that will delight any reader who wants to know about the world around them


10 thoughts on “Hair

  1. says:

    I am a big fan of microhistories books that explore one subject and show how important and wide ranging the impact that topic has had on the world So I was very excited to see this book on hair As a biology teacher I am on the lookout for microhistories on topics that students are familiar with that also explore from a uniue angle the fundamentals of biology Ever since I read Academically Adrift a few years ago I have been very concerned about including outside reading in my survey courses Dr Stenn has written a masterpiece that is ideal for the college classroom It is a general biology course in and of itself I would love to have my Human Anatomy and Physiology I students read this book It is the perfect length 170 pages the writing is wonderful the book is extremely well organized and importantly most of us are obsessed about our hair The book is absolutely fascinating and would make an excellent starting point for deeper explorations by students


  2. says:

    I would have enjoyed this if it explored the cultural aspects of hair than the scientific ones but the author is coming at it from a biological perspective than a sociological one


  3. says:

    this is a Solid Nonfiction Book and really Gave Me The Facts I Wanted for instance a uestion I had asked before is does hair Get Wet or does it merely hold water in between? this is a uestion that was posed on reddit in 2014 but wouldn't you rather read about it in this Nonfiction Book which actually explains the cuticle and why I have split ends? next up a book that explains to me why I can't stop playing w my hair when im stressed out


  4. says:

    I know I know A book about hair is something that I should love But there are a few facts that I uestion such as the statement that Anne Boleyn had her head shaved before her execution I've never read that before The son of Louis and Marie Antoinnette was referred to as the Dauphine not the Dauphin I'm curious as to what else might be wrong but I don't recognize that it is wrong because I don't have prior knowledge of itFull review to comeCheck out my full review on my blog


  5. says:

    Kurt Stenn LAB'57 SB'61AuthorFrom our pages Spring16 Hair complements our fashion trends is found in musical instruments aids in forensic science—and has become part of our identity Follicle expert Kurt Stenn former director of skin biology at Johnson and Johnson explores many biological cultural and anthropological strands of hair and its history including the science behind relaxers and dyes the role of hair shirts in medieval religion the art of wig making the use of hair in commercial products from brushes to tennis balls and


  6. says:

    A uick interesting read However it seriously needed a fact checkereditor I can guarantee you that women in the late 18th century weren't following ueen Victoria's example by making mourning jewelry out of hair Also the male heir to the French throne is the Dauphin not Dauphine and those plants along the shores of the river are cattails not a cat o' nine tails Unfortunately mistakes like that make me uestion everything else I read


  7. says:

    It's a short history of human hair through scientific and sociological perspectives Nothing ground breaking but a good compilation of various information


  8. says:

    Like Cod or Salt or the books by Mary Roach Stenn has written a book focussed on the many ways human lives have been entwined by hair not only on our bodies but in our musical instruments in art in clothing even in food slightly yuck Unlike those writers Stenn has chosen a topic he not only curious about but is his passion he is an expert in the field and his passionate interest and deeply rooted sorry knowledge comes through The book is extremely well written informative without ever being overbearing or over written and often amusing at just the right moment who knew that 'mad as a hatter' comes from the process of dousing the beaver pelt for hats so popular in the previous two centuries in mercury salts that poisoned the hatters Lots about the making of wigs the making of first felts then weaving And as I was finishing up I was appropriately winding up some balls of yarn for my next knitting project Also with a corgi or two at my feet Welsh dogs that are descended from the herding dogs brought to Britain by the Flemish weavers Stenn writes in the late middle ages to improve English weaving


  9. says:

    I couldn't resist this book at the library because of the hair on the cover Good job cover designers Got a lot of info about how hair works for sure sometimes in a clinical way than I'd have preferred but it's definitely thorough I particularly liked learning random details about how felting works and why people's hair might fall out to some degree about three months after a traumatic experience I appreciated the first two thirds of the book which focus on human hair far than the last bit which extends to other kinds of hair like beaver fur and sheep's wool


  10. says:

    I really enjoyed this It was in depth without being too scientifically dry I learned lots of little facts and new words for Scrabble There were a couple of times when some of the terminology was a little outdated and made me cringe a bit ie referring to someone historically as mentally stunted Other than that as I say I enjoyed it